Moving Day

No, not moving house, but moving from one office to another one across town. As of tomorrow, I’ll no longer be working at the Ponce de Leon Branch, where I’ve been assistant manager for the past eight years (and where I was interim manager for two-and-a-half of those eight years). Instead, I’ll be managing the Peachtree Branch Library, located several miles beyond the neighborhood where I’ve lived for the past thirty-five years, and worked in for the past eight years.

My employers, grappling with a recession-generated county government hiring freeze, are reassigning several of their assistant branch managers to deal with some of the vacancies that the hiring freeze (and some retirements) has created throughout the library system.

The reassignment to Peachtree marks the third time that I’ve abruptly begun a whole new era in my library career: a different work site, a different commute, a different set of job duties, a different cast of characters (both staff and customers). I’ll sorely miss  the colleagues, the collections, and the community at Ponce. Fortunately, the staff at my new branch are a delightful and resourceful bunch. Still, it’s a big change, for them and for me.

As for the photo above, who knew that a librarian could accumulate so much stuff in, around, and under his desk – even given eight years to do that? And, reader, that truck-load wasn’t all of it! Good thing I still own the pickup in addition to my motor scooter!

3 thoughts on “Moving Day

  1. I was just being snoopy since the photo could be enlarged, examining what items of abundance you had accumulated at the library now in the bed of your truck (I have nothing better to do with my time), when I spotted the reflection. Incidentally, I have the same exact “Beware of Dog” sign on my fence as well. Two of them, in fact.

Type Your Comment

