A Favorite Flower

I can’t seem to decide what my absolute favorite flower is – although the small number of contenders has remained fairly constant over the past twenty years or so.

Is my fave the scarlet geranium (probably because it reminds me so vividly of European window boxes)? The viola (always so cheerful-looking, and one of the few plants that thrives in cold weather)? Or is it the irises (because we had them in the back yard when I was a kid, and are the first flower I remember)?

At any rate, the reliable little platoon of Siberian irises standing rather haphazardly in my current back yard are back again – here are the glorious purple ones.

Type Your Comment

