Katha Pollit’s “Adam and Steve – Together at Last”

Once again, I live to regret my decision many years ago to stop reading The Nation.

I had never even heard of this magazine before I began working as a shelver in the library where I attended college.  Once I did discover it, however, I became an addictive reader, finding there so much that made sense of the exciting craziness that was the late 1960s and early 1970s in the United States.

Shortly after graduating from college, I began purchasing subscriptions for several favorite magazines I’d discovered as an undergraduate: not only The Nation, but also Harper’s, The Atlantic, Mother Jones News, The Utne Reader. Eventually, I stopped reading all of them – not because their excellence or relevance had diminished, but because I was wearing myself out trying to keep up with them all…and partly because I was becoming ever more alienated from the notion that following U.S. politics was anything other than a Huge (Not to Mention Thoroughly Depressing) Waste of Time & Energy.

At any rate, I suspected when I decided to stop reading every issue of The Nation, Harper’s, etc. that I’d probably be missing some great writing.

This essay by Kate Pollit, published in The Nation back in 2003 (!), is a sterling example of what I missed out on.

As the legality in the United States for “gay marriage” continues to wend its tedious way toward a pronouncement from the U.S. Supreme Court, and since Pollit addresses in her Nation essay all the basic assertions some people are still using eight years later to justify their continued acceptance of this particular injustice toward their fellow citizens, I found Pollit’s screed edifying to read.

My thanks to the folks who publish the daily electronic newsletter Gay Wisdom for Daily Living  for bringing Pollit’s essay to its readers’ attention; I must now track down more of Pollit’s work, as she certainly seems to be an eminently sensible writer.

Pollit maintains a blog, and Wikipedia has this profile of her.

One thought on “Katha Pollit’s “Adam and Steve – Together at Last”

Type Your Comment

