Two Egrets by Roderick MacIver

Two Egrets by Roderick MacIver

I first encountered this gorgeous image back in the mid-1990s, in Heron Dance, a wilderness-themed newsletter featuring MacIver’s watercolors paired with quotations he selected from the writings of naturalists and poets. My friend Corky gave me a gift subscription to Heron Dance that he renewed – and that I enjoyed – for many years. MacIver also sold note cards featuring this image, and over the years I bought many boxes of them.

A few years ago, MacIver decided to liquidate his stock of art prints. Having realized that Two Egrets was one of the few images I had continued, over a span of over twenty years, to respond affectionately to every time I saw it, I took a deep breath and decided to buy and frame a copy. I own very few framed prints, but I am so glad that this one hangs on a wall in my bedroom at the cabin in Blue Ridge. For me, MacIver’s image of these two birds evokes complete serenity, and the always-peaceful, restorative cabin is the perfect place for it. I still smile whenever I look at it.

MacIver eventually discontinued Heron Dance, but you can see many of his other watercolors, plus excerpts from the online newsletter successor to Heron Dance, at MacIver’s website.

This is the first installment of an ongoing project to share with others some of the beautiful or startling or humorous images I’ve collected over the years that, for one reason or another, I especially treasure. I plan to briefly explain why I treasure each of these images and/or remind myself how or when they came into my life. For the creators of these images (whenever I’m able to track down their names), the project is my way of thanking them for enriching my life.

 

 

Type Your Comment

