In Praise of Garden Fountains

Atlanta 2013 013

Admittedly I am easily amused, but getting my patio fountain re-started this afternoon after its long-delayed winter hiatus easily reaches the threshold for this month’s potentially blogworthy events!

I have enjoyed my current fountain for nine years now. I found it in March 2009 at the Atlanta Water Gardens; if you’ve never visited their enchanted establishment on Cheshire Bridge Road, you really should do that sometime. (I’ve taken several out-of-town visitors there.)

Although I had always envied the wonderful pond in the back yard of my D.C.-based friend Terry Hanlen, Terry convinced me many years ago, when I was contemplating putting in a similar (if necessarily smaller) pond at my place, that installing a pond of any size would be way too labor-intensive for a gardener as lazy as I am.

I was determined, however, to install some sort of water feature in my garden. Shortly after laying the patio a few years after buying the house over twenty years ago, I began buying a series of small fountains, each new one replacing its predecessor. This large and final fountain its manufacturer calls the “Europa Murabella Greenman.”

Here’s the base of the fountain in a photo I took after constructing a pad of bricks for it to perch upon:

New York Trip 105

A few days later it was up and running, although the climbing hydrangea I had attached to the fence behind it was just getting established:

Latest Photos 008

A photo taken a bit later, when the climbing hydrangea had leafed out but before the neaby oakleaf hydrangea – hardly visible in this photo – got so big it began obscuring the view of the fountain from the rest of the garden:

Latest Photos 031

Much of the time that I spend at home outside at my house I spend in the garden shed my brother Michael constructed for me two years ago. A photo of the shed that my friend Walter took earlier this month:

Garden Shed May 2016 photo by Walter

From my table and chair inside the shed, just beyond the grape arbor that shades the double French doors, I can look out toward the patio:

Patio May 2016

I can see in the distance the stautue that my friend Brad rescued from the condo of another friend of mine, Russ, when Russ was packing up to move to Costa Rica a few years ago. Here’s the statue closer-up:

Garden Patio May 2016 009

My fountain is immediately to the right of the statue, behind the gardenia bush.

Although I can’t actually see the fountain from inside the garden shed, I love being able to hear it from out there.

On the other hand, until last year, I could see the patio fountain from inside the house…

Latest Photos 010

… but I couldn’t hear it! So I finally got around to installing a portable screen for the door in my study that opens up onto the patio, and I can now hear the splasing water from inside the house as well as from inside the garden shed.

Another fountain-related pleasure besides the soothing sight and sound of gently splashing water: it reminds me of my trips to Italy, and inspires me to dream of further trips there someday.

Bliss!

A close-up of the fountain, taken this afternoon:

Fountain Video 002

 

7 thoughts on “In Praise of Garden Fountains

  1. You are not a lazy gardener! You have made wonderful use of the land in back of your house. Looks like a green oasis now, as well as having the garden house and vegetables and spices growing. Love all the photos with this blog. It was a very good idea to get some snaps as you were setting things up. However, it may be time – should I say it – for a bit of judicious pruning around the fountain. Just a bit. Otherwise you may wake up one morning and have difficulty finding the Green Man or Zeus or Poseidon or whoever that is in your fountain.

Type Your Comment

