Early Morning Stroll Through the Carter Center’s Japanese Gardens

My neck of the woods features something not found in many neighborhoods: a presidential library. This monument to immy Carter’s presidency is about 1.5 miles away from my front door.

In all the years I’ve lived in the various neighborhoods that border on the grounds of library, and after plenty of trips there in previous years to watch the sunset from its hilltop location overlooking downtown Atlanta, and despite the number of programs hosted by the library that I’ve attended over the years, and despite several trips to the farmer’s market that the Carter Center hosts every weekend,  I’d somehow never managed to seek out the not-that-easy-to-find path to the facility’s Japanese gardens .

I finally got over there this morning to take a look. The Japanese garden is a bit different than I had imagined it would be – it doesn’t seem very “Japanesey” to me –  but, hey, any expanse of conveniently-located and publicly-accessible green space – especially if it includes not one but two ponds – is wonderful to have available.

A few more photos:

 

3 thoughts on “Early Morning Stroll Through the Carter Center’s Japanese Gardens

Type Your Comment